ANC 1E has seven, single member districts with one Commissioner each. We represent the greater communities of Park View, Pleasant Plains, and Howard University within Ward One. Currently, there are five ANCs in Ward One, lettered A to E. More information about ANCs can also be found at:

Bradley Gallagher1E011E01@anc.dc.govN/AN/A
Bobbie Lancaster
Michael Wray,
Rashida Brown,
Philip Newland1E051E05@anc.dc.govN/AN/A
Josh Jacobson,
Brian Footer,
Commissioner List, CY 2023 – 2024 Terms

An ANC is a non-partisan, neighborhood body made up of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners. They are a unique feature of the District’s Home Rule Charter.

The Commissioners, who serve two-year terms without pay, are elected at DC Elections in November in even-numbered years (e.g. 2022). The ANCs were established to bring government closer to the people, and to bring the people closer to government.

The ANCs’ main job is to be their neighborhood’s official voice in advising the District government (and Federal agencies) on things that affect their neighborhoods. Although they are not required to follow the ANCs’ advice, District agencies are required to give the ANCs’ recommendations “great weight.” Moreover, District law says that agencies cannot take any action that will significantly affect a neighborhood unless they give the affected ANCs 30 days advance notice. This includes zoning, streets, recreation, education, social services, sanitation, planning, safety, budget, and health services.

The ANCs may also initiate recommendations for improving city services, conduct neighborhood improvement programs, and monitor resident complaints.

Map of Single Member Districts